Formula 2 in the 1979 season. Full information

14th season of the Formula 2 proved to be an exhilarating ride for motorsport enthusiasts worldwide. Spanning from 25th March to 19th August in 1979, this season showcased thrilling races, unexpected twists, and fierce competition. Join us as we relive the excitement and drama that unfolded throughout this unforgettable season of Formula 2!

Beginners of the season: Andrea De Cesaris , Siegfried Stohr , Derek Warwick , Teo Fabi , Huub Rothengatter , Patrick Gaillard , Juan Traverso , Oscar Pedersoli

Drivers championship 1979

Marc Surer



Brian Henton

United Kingdom

2nd place

Derek Daly


3rd place

List of all cars in the 1979 season

Ralt RT2


March 782